A very brief history:

The ULPSU was initially formed as the Postgraduate Students’ Association (PSA) in September 2002. Since that time it has directly represented every postgraduate student that has passed through the doors of UL. Initially a much smaller operation, the PSA continued to develop and expand throughout the 2000s. The PSA became the Postgraduate Students’ Union (PSU) in the academic year 2012/13, and has continued to increase its operations.

At the AGM in the autumn semester of 2015/16, the proposal for a part time Vice President was passed. At an EGM in the spring semester of 2018/2019, it was proposed that the role of Vice President would become a full-time Sabbatical Officer; the proposal was unanimously passed. At the same AGM, it was unanimously decided that the working hours of the Sabbatical Officers would be reduced from 44 to 40 hours, thus enabling international students to run for either position.

This same year saw the creation of a much needed support and continuity role for the Union and its Officers, that of the Secretary-General.

In 2019, the part-time role of PhD and Research Officer was passed. This role is held by a current PhD candidate, and they are hired through an interview process. The Union General Meeting in the spring of 2023 brought forward the approval of an additional sabbatical officer, the Vice President Engagement.

The current President is Roger Dsilva, and Vice President Academic is Benita Benjamin Victor, and Vice President Engagement is Edana Flynn. Their term in office began in August 2023. Cliodhna Condon is the current PhD and Research Officer.

ULPSU Presidents:

1. Jarleth Munnelly (2002/03)

2. John O’Reilly (2003/04)

3. Sorcha Keoghan (2004/05)

4. Maria McHale (2005/06)

5. Maya Niebrzegowska (2006/07)

6. Emma Murphy (2007/2009)

7. Michael Bourke (2009/10)

8. Dan Comerford (2010/11)

9. Sarah Jane Hennelly (2011/12)

10. Cian Spillane (2012/13)

11. Lily Carroll (2013/14)

12. Seamus Noonan (2014/15)

13. Seán McKillen (2015/16)

14. Aimée McKenzie (2016/2018)

15. Dean Lillis (2018/2019)

16. Abraham Agboola (2019/2020)

17. Andrea La Touche (2020/2021)

18. Rania Shadeed (2021/2022)

19. Louis Pemble (2022/2023)

20. Roger Dsilva (2023/2024)

ULPSU Vice Presidents:

1. Elaine O’Connor (2015/2016) Treasurer

2 Declan Mills (2016/2017) Treasurer

3. Hala Jaber (2017/2019) Treasurer

4. Sanjana Shashikumar (2019/2020) Academic and Research

5. Rania Shadeed (2020/2021) Academic and Research

6. Louis Pemble (2021/2022) Academic

7. Vivin Viswanath (2022/2023) Academic

8. Benita Benjamin Victor (2023/2024) Academic

Edana Flynn (2023/2024) Engagment