About Us


The ULPSU was initially formed as the Postgraduate Students’ Association (PSA) in September 2002. Since that time it has directly represented every postgraduate student that has passed through the doors of UL. Initially a much smaller operation, the PSA continued to develop and expand throughout the 2000s. The PSA became the Postgraduate Students’ Union (PSU) in the academic year 2012/13, and has continued to increase its operations.

At the AGM in the autumn semester of 2015/16, the proposal for a part time Vice President was passed. At an EGM in the spring semester of 2018/2019, it was proposed that the role of Vice President would become a full-time Sabbatical Officer; the proposal was unanimously passed. At the same AGM, it was unanimously decided that the working hours of the Sabbatical Officers would be reduced from 44 to 40 hours, thus enabling international students to run for either position.

This same year saw the creation of a much-needed support and continuity role for the Union and its Officers, that of the Secretary-General.

The current President is Andrea La Touche, and Vice President is Rania Shadeed Their term in office began in June 2019. The Executive & Council members’ details are available here.

ULPSU Presidents

  • Andrea La Touche
  • Abraham Agboola
  • Dean Lillis
  • Aimée McKenzie
  • Seán McKillen
  • Seamus Noonan
  • Lily Carroll
  • Cian Spillane
  • Sarah Jane Hennelly
  • Dan Comerford
  • Michael Bourke
  • Emma Murphy
  • Maya Niebrzegowska
  • Maria McHale
  • Sorcha Keegan
  • John O’Reilly (2003/04)
  • Jarleth Munnelly

ULPSU Vice Presidents

  • Rania Shadeed
  • Sanjana Shashikumar
  • Hala Jaber
  • Declan Mills
  • Elaine O’Connor

How your union works

UL Postgraduate Students’ Union (ULPSU) is the chief representative body for postgraduate students’ in University of Limerick. ULPSU is a democratic organization run by 2 full time officers elected by the Postgraduate Student Body along with the staff. The PSU’s main functions are to provide academic assistance to postgraduate students, to provide support to students in need, to lobby the University and the government on issues affecting postgraduate students, and to promote social and cultural inclusion.

There are two officers working full time, the President, the Vice President Academic Research along with a part time PHD Officer. Each of these officers has responsibility for their own brief and work to provide the best possible service and representation to our postgraduate students.

The ULPSU is located near the stables courtyard. The ULPSU is established in accordance with its constitution, statutes and regulations of the Governing Authority of the University as the sole representative body for UL postgraduate students. Each postgraduate student is automatically a member of the ULPSU.

The ULPSU sabbatical officers represent students on a number of committees including UL’s Governing Authority, Academic Council etc as mentioned below.

Sabbatical Officers

Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consectetur adipiscing elit. Ut elit tellus, luctus nec ullamcorper mattis, pulvinar dapibus leo.

Our Executive Team

  • PSU Executive Committee (10 members) 5
  • Arts Humanities and Social Sciences Representative
  • Education and Health Sciences Representative
  • Kemmy Business School Representative
  • Science and Engineering Representative
  • PhD Representative
  • International Representative
  • Council members (two in total)

Our Council

The ULPSU Council acts as the Postgraduate Student Parliament for UL.